Bug 48119 - User is prompted for confirmation of hostname and domain during preseed (re)installation
User is prompted for confirmation of hostname and domain during preseed (re)i...
Status: RESOLVED INVALID
Product: UCS
Classification: Unclassified
Component: UCS Net Installer
UCS 4.3
Other Linux
: P5 normal (vote)
: ---
Assigned To: UCS maintainers
UCS maintainers
:
Depends on:
Blocks:
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2018-11-08 10:30 CET by Valentin Heidelberger
Modified: 2018-11-08 11:35 CET (History)
1 user (show)

See Also:
What kind of report is it?: Bug Report
What type of bug is this?: 4: Minor Usability: Impairs usability in secondary scenarios
Who will be affected by this bug?: 2: Will only affect a few installed domains
How will those affected feel about the bug?: 2: A Pain – users won’t like this once they notice it
User Pain: 0.091
Enterprise Customer affected?: Yes
School Customer affected?:
ISV affected?:
Waiting Support:
Ticket number:
Bug group (optional):
Max CVSS v3 score:


Attachments
UMC screenshot of extended start options necessary for workaround (11.11 KB, image/png)
2018-11-08 10:30 CET, Valentin Heidelberger
Details

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.
Description Valentin Heidelberger univentionstaff 2018-11-08 10:30:00 CET
Created attachment 9730 [details]
UMC screenshot of extended start options necessary for workaround

Contrary to Debian's preseed documentation the user is prompted for confirmation of hostname and domain during a preseed installation even with these variables set according to docu:

# Any hostname and domain names assigned from dhcp take precedence over
# values set here. However, setting the values still prevents the questions
# from being shown, even if values come from dhcp.
d-i netcfg/get_hostname string unassigned-hostname
d-i netcfg/get_domain string unassigned-domain

See also: https://www.debian.org/releases/stable/i386/apbs04.html.en#preseed-network


A workaround is to set hostname and domain in the extended start options (see attached screenshot):

hostname=member domain=ucs.demo

If there's no other way to fix this for the time being, I'd propose to fill the extended start options field with these values automatically for UCS computer objects.
Comment 1 Philipp Hahn univentionstaff 2018-11-08 10:40:12 CET
RTFM <http://docs.software-univention.de/installation-4.3.html#profile:intro>

> Therefore "priority=critical" should be specified under additional start options for UCS systems using the profile from Section 3.2.
Comment 2 Valentin Heidelberger univentionstaff 2018-11-08 11:05:31 CET
I proposed to set "hostname=<name> domain=<domain>" by default because I'm not sure which other possible questions priority=critical excludes. Anyway either "hostname=<name> domain=<domain>" or "priority=critical" should be default IMHO since the point of preseed installation is to install systems unattended and hostname and domain are always known (contrary to other possible "uncritical" questions?) when a reinstall is triggered via UCS computer object.
Comment 3 Philipp Hahn univentionstaff 2018-11-08 11:35:29 CET
(In reply to Valentin Heidelberger from comment #2)
> I proposed to set "hostname=<name> domain=<domain>" by default

no, because then you have to create individual settings for each host and can no longer use UCS policies.

> because I'm
> not sure which other possible questions priority=critical excludes.

If they are not answered by the preseed file, you will see them anyway.
If you want fully automatic installation, you MUST use priority=critical.
D-I is designed that way, no discussion will change that!

> Anyway
> either "hostname=<name> domain=<domain>" or "priority=critical" should be
> default IMHO since the point of preseed installation is to install systems
> unattended and hostname and domain are always known (contrary to other
> possible "uncritical" questions?) when a reinstall is triggered via UCS
> computer object.

No: hostname and domain are configured through DHCP, not here!
Changing the default will NOT update existing machine accounts, so that only helps for NEW hosts.